Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Please comment on my video - at 55y not done yet

Please comment on my video - at 55y not done yet 4 months, 3 weeks ago #9431

Hi, I'm new here. My first posting. I'm here to get some constructive feedback on my skiing and tips on how to take it to the next level - impressing myself

I'm turning 55, I'm 190cm tall and weight 98kg. I skied when I was younger but cannot remember the rope lengths or the speeds. Probably very slow with max rope length. I'm using the same ski as I did back in the 80s, an O'Brian racing ski, and the boat is a normal recreational boat with a 90hp Evinrude HO. Should be able to tow me at close to 30 knots.

I have never been coached. I'm more or less self taught. An old pro told me the basics back in the 80's and I took it from there. Something like this: skiing is pulling, braking and turning. Like a waltz rhythm. 1 2 3. Pull before the wake, get on the other edge, follow the boat, turn, pull etc. Here is the video. I much appreciate any feedback.

Kind regards,

Tom

Re: Please comment on my video - at 55y not done yet 4 months, 3 weeks ago #9432

• BudDavis
  • Today is a gift, so ski. No promise of more.
TDK,
It looks to me that you are far more advanced that many people I see skiing tournament and into short line.

You look fundamentally sound with most of your positions and moves. It looks to me that you are carrying your great snow skiing background into water skiing.

In reference to your off side turn: I would try to bend your front ankle and stack your knee over your front foot and your hips over your knee. See picture below where you are not doing this.

Try to straiten your arms and push the handle down throughout.

Ask your driver to attempt to drive in a straight path and not turn as you are cutting side to side.

Speed the boat up but stay within your comfort zone. You do not want to feel like you are sinking, nor feel like you are out of control.